Brazil says it will accept Security Council seat without right to veto

08/06/2005 - 22h01

Paula Menna Barreto
Reporter Agência Brasil

Brasília – A group of four countries that are seeking permanent seats on the UN Security Council, known as the G-4, which consists of Brazil, Germany, India and Japan, have presented a revised proposal for the reform of the council. In the document, the G-4 say they will not seek veto powers for a 15-year period if they are given permanent seats on the Security Council.

The only permanent members of the council at this time, China, England, France, Russia and the United States, all have veto powers.

Translator: Allen Bennett